Cannes: Cortos en competencia

The Cannes Film Festival's official selection of nine competing short films was announced Tuesday in Paris. Like the feature competition and sidebars, the lineup in heavy on European fare, with seven out of nine shorts hailing from European Union countries.

Program includes U.K. helmer Emma Sullivan's psycho-suspenser "After Tomorrow," Spanish thesp Alex Brendemuhl's debut "Rumbo a Peor," and Dutch director Jochem de Vries' "Missen," amongst other Euro pics.

Two non-EU shorts are Croatian entry "Ciao Mama" by Goran Odvorcic, and "The Six Dollar Fifty Man," a primary school coming-of-ager from New Zealanders Mark Albiston and Louis Sutherland. Duo's previous short, "Run," was included in the 2007 short competition.

The Cannes Cinefondation also announced its lineup of 17 film school shorts, which reps a diverse mix of European and international pics, including four animated works.

Commenting on this year's selection, artistic director Laurent Jacob told Daily Variety: "The common theme seems to be about individuals wanting to escape into a new life, and finding their illusions confronted by hard realities."

Jacob added that each of the Cinefondation's four programs ends this year with a longer short of 30 to 40 minutes, and that students from three animation schools — in Belgium, France and Italy — will be repping their institutions for the first time at Cannes.

The Cinefondation jury is headed up by director John Boorman, and includes Gallic helmer Bertrand Bonello and Chinese actress Zhang Ziyi.

In other Cannes news, the Critics' Week announced today that French animated feature "Round da Way" will be added to its Special Screenings selection. Adapted from the Gallic TV series "Les Lescars," adult-themed, hip-hop scored pic features the voices of French stars Vincent Cassel, Diane Kruger, Omar Sy and Gilles Lellouche. Film is schedded for release in Gaul on June 17 by Bac, which will also be handling international sales.

"Ciao Mama," Croatia, Goran Odvorcic
"Larsog Peter," Denmark, Daniel Borgman
"L'homme a la Gordini," France, Jean-Christophe Lie
"Klusums," Latvia, Laila Pakalnina
"Missen," Netherlands, Jochem de Vries
"The Six Dollar Fifty Man," New Zealand, Mark Albiston, Louis Sutherland
"Arena," Portugal, Joao Salaviza
"Rumbo a Peor," Spain, Alex Brendemuhl
"After Tomorrow," U.K., Emma Sullivan

"El Boxeador," Argentina, Juan Ignacio Pollio
"#1," Belgium, Noamir Castera
"Kasia," Belgium, Elisabet Llado
"Chapa," Brazil, Thiago Ricarte
"Goodbye," China, Song Fang
"Baba," Czech Republic, Zuzana Kirchnerova-Spidlova
"Sylfidden," Denmark, Dorte Bengtson
"Le Contretemps," France, Dominique Baumard
"Traverser," France, Hugo Frassetto
"Diploma," Israel, Yaelle Kayam
"Segal," Israel, Yuval Shani
"Il Naturalista," Italy, Giulia Barbera, Gianluca Lo Presti, Frederico Parodi, Michele Tozzi
"Malzonkowie," Poland, Dara Van Dusen
"Don't Step Out the House," South Korea, Jo Sung-hee
"The Horn," South Korea, Yim Kyung-dong
"By the Grace of God," U.K., Ralitza Petrova
"Gutter," U.S., Daniel Day

No hay comentarios.: