Dos argentinos en los jurados del Festival de Locarno

The jury for the Concorso internazionale (International Competition) has five members, and its president will be Singaporean filmmaker, Eric Khoo (Be with me, 2005; My Magic, 2008). He will be accompanied in the task of selecting the Pardo d’oro (Golden Leopard) by Iranian actress Golshifteh Farahani (Body of Lies by Ridley Scott, 2008; About Elly by Asghar Farhadi, 2009), French actor Melvil Poupaud (Time to Leave by François Ozon, 2005; A Christmas Tale by Arnaud Desplechin, 2010), Swiss director Lionel Baier (Stupid Boy, 2004; Another Man, 2008) and American filmmaker Joshua Safdie (The Pleasure of Being Robbed, 2008; Go Get Some Rosemary, 2009).

The jury for the Concorso Cineasti del presente (Filmmakers of the Present Competition), now dedicated to first and second films, will be chaired by Eduardo Antin, aka “Quintin”, former director of the Buenos Aires Film Festival (BAFICI). Other jury members confirmed so far include German director Maren Ade (The Forest for the Trees, 2003; Everyone Else, 2009) and Belgian filmmaker Joachim Lafosse (Private Madness, 2004; Private Property, 2006).

Finally, there is the jury for the Pardi di domain (Leopards of Tomorrow), the section dedicated to short films, which has both a national and international competition. Argentine director Lisandro Alonso (Los Muertos, 2004; Liverpool, 2008) will be jury president, accompanied by French producer Sylvia Pialat, from Les Films du Worso (The King of Escape by Alain Guiraudie, 2009; Rebecca H. – Return To The Dogs by Lodge Kerrigan, 2010), Swiss actress Nina Meurisse (Complices by Frédéric Mermoud, 2009), and Portuguese director Miguel Gomes (A Cara que Mereces, 2004; This Dear Month of August, 2008).

Artistic director of the Festival, Olivier Père comments “For the selection in the 63rd edition of the Festival, that promises to be rich in terms of new discoveries, we have chosen international personalities, young and passionate about films, who are highly respected within the sector. We are delighted they have responded to our invitation with such enthusiasm.

The final line-up for the Concorso Cineasti del presente and the Pardi di domani juries will be announced over the next few weeks.

The 63rd edition of the Locarno Film Festival will take place August 4 -14, 2010.

No hay comentarios.: